Friday, March 12, 2010

10th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards

10th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards

Last night (3/11/10) at 6:30pm in the North Gall of the Moscone Convention Center, Gamers gathered for the 10th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards. These are my favorite game awards because the winners (in theory) have nothing to do with marketing, connections, dollar signs or the like. These winners are chosen by fellow artist, designers, tech geeks, and game innovators. This is an opportunity for folks working shoulder to shoulder in the game industry trenches to acknowledge the accomplishments of their fellow colleagues. Check out this years winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award: John Carmack
Pioneer Award: Gabe Newell
Ambassador Award: Penny Arcade (Jerry Holkins, Mike Krahulik, Robert Khoo)

Game of the Year: Uncharted 2 (Naughty Dog)
Best Game Design: Batman: Arkham Asylum (Rocksteady Studios)
Best Writing: Uncharted 2 (Naughty Dog)
Best Debut Game: Torchlight (Runic Games)
Best Technology: Uncharted 2 (Naughty Dog)
Best Handheld Game: Scribblenauts (5th Cell)
Best Visual Arts: Uncharted 2 (Naughty Dog)
Innovation Award: Scribblenauts (5th Cell)
Best Audio: Uncharted 2 (Naughty Dog)
Best Downloadable Game: Flower (ThatGameCompany)

CONGRATS to this years Winners!!!